Local athletes earn postseason awards

Saturday, April 8, 2017

Several local athletes and coaches took home postseason awards after the 2016-2017 basketball season.

For the Blytheville Chickasaws, Josh Richardson, senior forward, received numerous awards, including making the all-state tournament team and all-state. Earning all- conference honors for Blytheville were Richardson, Austin Phelan, AJ Love and Tydarius Pope ó all seniors.

Also receiving 5A-East all-conference honorable mention were juniors Tony Newmy and Treay Jamison.

Kaitlyn Thomas took home all-conference for the Blytheville Lady Chickasaws in her senior season.

For the Gosnell Pirates, seniors Marquel McKinney and Tramaine Anderson took home all-conference honors.

Gosnell Lady Pirates junior guard ZíKiah Kuykendall received all-conference, while teammate Kourtney Riggs, Lady Pirate senior guard, received honorable mention.

Armorel Tigers boys basketball coach Gary Burnside received 1A-3 Conference Coach of the Year in his first season at the helm. Senior Logan Blankenship and junior Monroe Carr took home all-conference. In junior high, freshman Spencer Towery received all-conference.

McKinley Carr received all- conference for the Armorel Lady Tigers in her junior season. Freshmen Tya Sellars and Mayson Carr took home all-conference awards for the Armorel junior Lady Tigers.